National Flash Fiction Day

Hey guys and gals, in case you didn’t know May 16th is National Flash Fiction Day in the UK. What with the newly elected Premier of Queensland (my home state) deciding to axe the Premier’s Literary Awards the day he took power, I thought it might be pertinent to put out a little book of flash fiction to hand out to cafes, record stores and the general public on the day, to remind them of how much they might lose. So, basically, this is me putting out a call for submissions . There is no monetary payment (I’m a writer – I’m broke) just a good chance of you being published (in a photocopied little booklet, that gets given away for free.) Naturally, I will include links to your blogs, and will publish the stories under whatever name you want them published under – if you so choose. I will also email the magazine/chapbook/booklet to you, and it’d be GREAT if you then chose to distribute it yourselves as well, we are writers, after all, and what other goal is there for a writer other than to collect readers?

There’s no theme – other than not being too offensive. The occasional “fuck”, if well placed, is not going to offend too many people. The idea is to showcase the variety that can be achieved in so few words – probably less than 1000. To try and reignite the interest in short stories in particular and fiction in general.

If there are enough submissions we may put out more than one pamphlet/booklet and divide those by theme – maybe.

Let me know if you’re interested, my email is EMAIL ADDRESS REMOVED. Thanks in advance everyone!

EDIT: In other words, something I’ve forgotten. The DEADLINE is the 10th of May. Up to three stories per author. Groovy, that should be all…

20120420-114216.jpg

Tagged , , , ,

37 thoughts on “National Flash Fiction Day

  1. yellowlancer says:

    Great idea – we need all the writing/publishing opportunities we can get 🙂

  2. Sounds awesome. I am in Australia. I may have to come up with a fash fiction for you. Great idea.

  3. […] National Flash Fiction Day […]

  4. EmmaMc says:

    Great idea. I’m not in Australia but count me in!

  5. the urban misanthropist says:

    Great idea – I’d be happy to distribute around my part of London. Feel free to pull anything off my blog – if I get a chance I’ll make some selections as well…

  6. Annie says:

    count me in!!

  7. Annie says:

    I’ve reblogged this – and shared!

  8. Anonymous says:

    Oh man I thought u said 100 words! And I sent u exactly 100! That wasn’t flash fiction it was lightning flash invisible to the naked eye fiction :/

  9. Cool beans. I’ll link back.

  10. […] veteran Chris White is taking flash fiction submissions for a short story collection he is self-publishing in protest of the Premier of Queensland cutting […]

  11. Jody Moller says:

    Fabulous idea. I will spread the word.

  12. […] Chris White is putting together a pamphlet of flash fiction stories to share with the general public. Submissions are now open (close May 10th). You can check out his post here. […]

  13. […] free magazine distributed to the people on the streets, in cafes and bookstores. The mag is called Photocopier Press. Check it out… Share this:TwitterFacebookEmailStumbleUponLike this:LikeBe the first to like […]

  14. prudencemacleod says:

    I’ll see if I can muster something to submit. Great Idea.

  15. Hi Chris, I’m currently setting up a short story project to help unpublished writers get seen, which I’m hoping to get out on the 16th May as well. If this all goes well I’d be more than happy to print some copies and distribute them in Manchester UK along with CAKE! I’m also happy to promote this on the website if you’ll do the same 😀
    http://cakeshortandsweet.wordpress.com/
    -Sarah

  16. Annie says:

    Hi Chris – I got sucked in and yes – I’ll run a flash fiction comp too – but mine will be twisted tales of 350 – 600 words only… entries and info here http://ragingaardvarkpublications.submishmash.com/submit/12735/submission

  17. […] also agreed to distribute some copies of a pamphlet of flash fiction being put together at this blog here! So take a look and get involved. Chris has agreed to post about CAKE, so if your stories are too […]

  18. […] there, denizens of the Internet! How goes it? In case you haven’t heard, I put out a call for submissions for a pamphlet we’re distributing for National Flash Fiction Day (May 16th.) While we were on […]

  19. Anonymous says:

    I’d love to help distribute, I’m in America though. There are a lot of coffee shops and places though where I could leave chapbooks. Think it’s do-able?

  20. […] Photocopier Press is looking for stories under 1000 words […]

  21. Annie says:

    done a shout out for Cake, you and a few of the others.. http://annieonwriting.wordpress.com/2012/04/26/submit-your-flash/
    good luck on the subs!

  22. Let me know how we can help. We have editors in Hong Kong, Abu Dhabi and the US. Awesome project, Chris.

    • It would be awesome if you could spread the word! We’ve got a stack of excellent submissions already – including one from Lisa which was a distressingly good read (especially as a father) – but we could always do with more. Particularly if we keep the mag coming out… It would also be great if you could literally spread the word by helping to distribute the magazine (something Lisa mentioned in her email.) Thanks Trifectans!

  23. […] Chris White is looking for flash-fictions for a pamphlet to be distributed in Brisbane, Australia. Previously published works are accepted. Up to three stories per author. Deadline 10th May. […]

  24. Chris — exciting project and I would love to help distribute – I’m in the NY/NJ area. I’ll email you. Also plan to submit to you and to cake..thanks!

  25. Rekha says:

    That’s awesome of you…not sure if I should submit as my writing kinda of sucks. but I could pass on a few copies here in India.

  26. cathaber1 says:

    Hi Chris – I’m going to write something to submit (I know I haven’t got long!)and will be happy to distribute copies around Abergavenny, South Wales.

  27. […] National Flash Fiction Day, TODAY (in Australia at least!) We got so much interest, not only in the call for submissions that we had to put together two booklets – we got so many good submissions that there is both […]

  28. […] veteran Chris White is taking flash fiction submissions for a short story collection he is self-publishing in protest of the Premier of Queensland cutting […]

Comments and criticism always welcome!