Arise!

I took him into my confidence. He was genuinely curious – I had him figured as a nice guy – he wanted to know the truth. Why did I spend my nights alone? Why did I never leave the confines of my self-inflicted exile? Not my memories, as such, more my now. I told him all of it, of course. I always did. He was my mad escape from Elba, but at the same time I fear he has become my Waterloo. Returned into the world outside, a world so long without my kind of mind – I had made sure of that. A world royalty free, without our precious nobility. It sickens me, the thought of this world. So unclean, not a New World Order but a world in the wrong order.

I will see to that.

I shall awaken my brothers and sisters.

A quick flash piece that “just happened,” I started writing this about five minutes ago. The ending surprised me, I had no idea it was about aliens or monsters or whatever the Hell they are. The prompts come from BeKindRewrite (with Not my Memories, Royalty Free and Wrong Order) as well as from Trifectawith Confidence: a relation of trust or intimacy. Also, for those of you who don’t know, I am calling for submissions and distributors from all around the globe for a free magazine distributed to the people on the streets, in cafes and bookstores. The mag is called Photocopier Press. Check it out…

10 thoughts on “Arise!

  1. TheOthers1 says:

    My very first thought was interview with a vampire, but perhaps that was a little too quick of a judgement. Very intriguing. I’d love to read more if this were a longer piece.

  2. I love when these stories just happen – Some of my best work emerges from these moments. Would love to read more.

  3. I’m curious about this nice guy who is your narrator’s ‘mad escape from Elba’ but might just be his Waterloo.

  4. Annabelle says:

    Ooh! Very intriguing in addition to being nicely crafted. I hope you figure out more of who they are and share it with us.

  5. Ooooh, i like this! Nicely done. I may need more…

  6. Thanks for linking up (so early!) this week to Trifecta. I love the organic development of your story here, especially given the strange prompts you were squeezing in. It’s a compelling read. Hope to see you back for the weekend challenge.

  7. KP says:

    Away with the aristocracy … again! Zombie-fied Napoleon? An interesting combo..

  8. I particularly like the comparison between telling a secret and escaping from prison – especially a mad escape. Effective.

Comments and criticism always welcome!