Love Life

I found –
After what felt
like
A decade of searching –
Just the book
I
Was looking for:
The Human Heart:
A User’s Guide.

I thought
It would help.

“Love is blind,”
It said.
“Love is perfect.”
“Love is pure.”
“For the rich
Love can be hard –
Not hard to find but
Hard to keep.”

I was perfectly poor.
Poor enough,
To give
My heart away
For free.
Blue, broken
Hearted.
Broken.
In Love
With falling
In Love.
But not
In Love
With you.

“Love,” it said,
“Is the one thing
In the universe
That can travel –
Faster than light.”

But I knew,
Then,
That they were lying.
Because Love
Can take an age
To settle
Into that delicate

….T
..A
.I
….L
..S
….P
…I
….N

of enchantment.

And I know,
That even Love
At first sight
Can only travel
300,000 kilometers
Per second.

And,
Whenever I see you
I’m
Seeing the you
That lived
Moments ago.
Seeing
Only
A version of you
From the past.

This wee poem (hey, look at me, I’m branching out!) was written for this week’s InMon prompts, I used Heart Manual, Faster than Light and Poor & Perfect as well as using this week’s Trifectaprompt: Blue meaning down in the dumps, depressed. Not a definition I would usually use…

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Love Life

  1. Annabelle says:

    We’re all looking for that book, I think. I like this idea of love being like the stars — seeing something that happened in the past instead of what’s really there at this moment. Well done.

  2. Christine says:

    That last stanza is incredible.

  3. trifectawriting says:

    Thanks for linking up with Trifecta this week. Nice job stretching those creative muscles. Like Christine, I loved the last stanza. So beautiful. And sad. And true, I think.

    Hope to see you back again soon, Chris.

  4. Very. Very. Very cool.

  5. KP says:

    Wonderful.Loved the last stanza – it has a sadness to it – of being just out of reach of the perfect now.

Comments and criticism always welcome!