The Sun is Here!

“The Sun is here! The Sun is here!”

.
She came without radiant armour, without her heralds and hangers-on.

.
“The Sun is here!”

.
My neighbour sneered over his fence. He didn’t believe me.

.
She glared at me! At me, of all people!

.
“Quiet down boy.” (she said) “I don’t want everybody to know.”

.
She looked exactly like her engravings – but without the halo, and the silver, fish-scale armour. She came without the Butcher, her bronze machete, whose blood-gutters had so often run with the blood of her enemies.

.
The Sun is here!

.
She came into town, to stay at my Mother’s inn!

.
I was collecting vegetables from the garden when she came in – I saw red leather boots on the loose gravel path and looked up at her – the setting sun was behind her, like an egg breaking on the horizon, shining over her shoulders like a halo. That’s how I knew it was her. There was no way I could mistake her for the travelling salesman she hoped to pass as.
She’s sitting in my Mother’s kitchen.

.

Mother sent me outside to collect a chicken for the cooking-pot, mangos, onion shoots, mint, basil, chilli – soon she’ll run out of things for me to collect. The smell of Mother’s cooking filled the yard, the herbs and spices unleashing their fragrance as I readied my axe to swing.
The chop-sticks look so delicate in her hands, delicate yet deadly, as she twirled them between her fingers.

.
“I just want some peace, just a few days of peace,” she said.

.
“I understand,” my Mother said, nodding (how could she understand?). “I’ll send the boy away.”

.
The road to my Grandmother’s house is muddy, and the sun beats down on my shoulders, while the Sun sleeps in my Mother’s house.


Written for this month’s r/fantasywriters Writing Challenge – to write a story of 1,000 words or less from the perspective of a mundane character encountering their hero or villain in an unremarkable location. I also used one of this week’s BeKindRewrite prompts: Travelling Salesman. It’s very short, but hey, that’s how we all like it, right? Let me know what you think! 

Tagged , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “The Sun is Here!

  1. Your writing is incredible. Love this!

  2. What a fascinating character. Beautiful and frightening at the same time.

    The beginning reminded me of the Moody Blues poem from Days of Future Past – “…brave Helios, wake up your steeds / bring the warmth the countryside needs…”

Comments and criticism always welcome!

