Out of the Darkness

“Jozin z Bazin” by Sergey Kolesov

The beast rose up, out of the darkness.

Its gaze was flame, fire burning, burning bright.

I heard its roar, through my humming song, the one I like to sing.

It scares away the sun. One of my madman’s tricks.

The beast floundered, wailing, screaming. Stuck in the mud, never go in the mud.

Stuck in the mud.

It felt hot, but cold, heavy – I couldn’t lift it.

I pushed it under. To put it out of its misery.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

12 thoughts on “Out of the Darkness

  1. I would not want to meet that beast! Well done!

  2. Sonia Lal says:

    Way to kill the beast!

  3. Wow. So. Sad. The unstable voice is convincingly simply, yet practical, and that makes it all the more heartbreaking. Poor beast.

    • He just looked so sweet! I love the idea that just because something appears monstrous doesn’t make it so. I feel for both beasts, really, the shag-pile and the car (particularly its passengers…)

  4. TuiSnider says:

    I love the the rhythm in this piece! Poor beast. He looks kinda sweet in the illustration. I got the impression he was scared.

    ~Tui Snider, @TuiSnider on Twitter
    …dropping by from the #StoryDam chat weekly blog linky!
    Hope to see you at chat tonight (Thurs 8pmEDT)

Comments and criticism always welcome!

