Book Review: Margaret Atwood, MADDADDAM

20140320-163502.jpg
Hey! Another book down, in my Year of Reading Women – that’s ten so far, and MaddAddam is the fourth Margaret Atwood book in my list (again, so far.) She’s brilliant, and so is this novel, which was a relief, given how little I liked the second book in the MaddAddam series, The Year of the Flood.

“Heart like shale. What you need is a good fracking.”

The story picks up where we left off at the end of The Year of the Flood – Jimmy-the-Snowman, the prophet of Crake, has stumbled across some more living humans. Who, as I mentioned in my review of The Year of the Flood, turn out to all be people that are closely connected to one another. Because that’s believable.

Anyway, I’m not going back there.

MaddAddam is, as expected, full of Atwood’s beautiful prose, and exceptional insights into human nature. The trilogy (Oryx & Crake, The Year of the Floodand MaddAddam) is well worth picking up. But of course I’d say that. I love Margaret Atwood. Now, off to the bookstore!

Tagged , , , ,

Comments and criticism always welcome!

