I Had to Leave Them

Copyright Ted Strutz

The engine no longer drones.

The lights still burn – small mercies.

The sun sets red and the ghosts of my past walk the decks.

There was nothing else I could do.

I had to leave them.

I had to leave you! I scream at the mirror surface of the water, begging its forgiveness, but only seeing my reflection, the face of a monster.

I’m sorry. It comes out as a whisper. I had to leave you

The cities burned, the world burned.

I had to run.

I had to leave them.

I’m sorry…

Written for this week’s Friday Fictioneers photo-prompt. Comments and criticism always welcome!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “I Had to Leave Them

  1. Dear Chris,

    The MC’s guilt is tangible. Well done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  2. Great story for the prompt, Chris. I had the feeling of being abandoned or people vanishing, too. Excellent.

  3. tedstrutz says:

    Fits the photo to a tee in the first lines… then the despair sets in… nicely done.

Comments and criticism always welcome!

