Koala Bowling

Sunday Sketch 72 - Terry Whidborn

Sunday Sketch 72 – Terry Whidborne

“It takes a bit of skill, to do this properly. A bit craft, a bit of guile. You gotta make sure the little bugger doesn’t get any funny ideas, doesn’t get wilful. Gotta be quick, just line ’em up and throw. And koalas are pissed all the time. They love it. ”

It’s been horrible, the way things have changed, the way humans have reacted over the last twenty years. Ever since we started uplifting the animals – they all want to do something ‘useful’.

They think they’re helping out.

And of course the crew will figure out something to do with them.

I’d had to tell them at least half the truth, as soon as I walked in. It was the only way to get any of them to talk.

“Look, mate, I’m not here to investigate any possible breaches of the rights of the Uplifted.”

He let down his guard – that’s when I revealed the rest:

“I’m here to look into the increase in chlamydia infections onboard…”

Written for the Terry Whidborne image above, one of his lovely Sunday Sketches (follow @Tezzabold on Twitter), as well as for the Trifecta Writing Challenge. Comments and criticism always welcome! 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “Koala Bowling

  1. bluebellina says:

    Poor koalas!! Love the story Chris!!

  2. Draug419 says:

    haha cute

  3. KymmInBarcelona says:

    Frankly, I’m wondering “what” is on board…
    koala bowling – love it. What do you use for pins?

    • No idea what they use for pins – but knowing my fellow Australians I’ll go with beer bottles. And the chlamydia reference is due to the fact that koalas are riddled with it – they’re dying out, poor things.

  4. CherryPickens says:

    I finally got it! I kept reading pissed as angry. I’d forgotten the other meaning altogether. Once that bit of confusion was cleared up, this story got way more fun. Heck, I enjoyed myself immensely!

    • Sorry, I didn’t even think of that definition – if someone said “Joe Bloggs is pissed.” I’d automatically think drunk. But I think that’s Australians, mainly. Glad you liked the story!

  5. When a story is called ‘koala bowling’, you pretty much know it’s going to be great. Thanks for linking up. Don’t forget to vote.

Comments and criticism always welcome!

