Into the Ceiling

Sunday Sketch 69 - Terry Whiborne

Sunday Sketch 69 – Terry Whidborne

“Chris, I think I saw someone in the yard…”

“Babe, if there was someone in the yard the sensor light would go off. Even the possums set it off.”

The flicker of a shadow across the walls was laughed off as shifting branches. The tap-tap-tap on the window was the same. The door thud-thudded, it was the breeze.

It was just the breeze.

I heard the door creak open, fingertips curled around the frame.

She whispered it was just a dream.

I felt his touch, heard his whispered voice.

He smiled, as he touched me.

I saw him climb. Into the ceiling.

He’s gone now.

I checked.

But still I feel his stare, in through the window at night.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

33 thoughts on “Into the Ceiling

  1. Gardner's World says:

    Truly the stuff of nightmares

  2. deanabo says:

    oh my, freaky! I love this kind of stuff!

  3. Eric Alagan says:

    Nah! It’s just a nightmare – go back to sleep 👿

  4. Denise Covey says:

    Go back to sleep after that! I don’t think so! Creepy as…Great Halloween Haunted story. Thanks for linking to the WEP blogfest/sharing!

  5. Vesper says:

    The uncertainty is what gets to us more… of the things that lurk just outside the reach of our consciousness… nibbling at it with fears… I loved your story! Really scary! 🙂

  6. Chrys Fey says:

    This is what horror movies are made of! I would not stay in that house! lol

  7. I am so totally not going to be able to sleep now! Great post!

  8. So fits into our theme this month! Great, and I remember feeling things like this when I was a kid…
    celticadlx.blogspot.com

  9. Suze says:

    I’m with Eric! 🙂

  10. Quite freaky! Especially climbing into the ceiling.

    Shannon at The Warrior Muse

  11. Awesome creep out!

    Trick or Treat and Happy Halloween!

  12. I cut down the shrubs at the side of my house because they would scrape against the siding and scare me in the middle of the night! 🙂

  13. Sally says:

    Night terrors are the worst. I hope you sleep through sometimes!

  14. Scary. Well written.
    Nancy

  15. Trisha says:

    Eeewwww, scary! 🙂 Nice writing!

Comments and criticism always welcome!

