I remember…

Copyright Claire Fuller

I wander the empty hall – cold stone walls throw back the echoes of my passage, whispered groans and the aches of wooden beams.

They’re knocking down the Abbey.

I remember the history of this place, as tonsured monks came across the sea in their coracles, waving the flag of Christ above the dark, dank heart of the island.

I remember the children, dressed in white and pledged to me, their beatific, drugged smiles, wearing with pride my hot-iron brand on their porcelain skin as they walked the gallows-walk to the clearing at the center of the grove.

I remember the fire-brands, the preachers’ promises as they felled the little forest that was my home and dragged heavy, chiseled stones into place. The bards would sing, long poems guarded against the ravages of history – all were forgotten.

Only I remember.

They’re knocking down the Abbey, and with it they are destroying my worshippers.

I cannot let this stand…

Written for this week’s Friday Fictioneers’ photo-prompt, and this week’s Trifecta Writing Challenge prompt: brand.

I know it’s a little long (~50 words too long), but I hope you enjoyed it anyway…

Comments and criticism always welcome! 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

15 thoughts on “I remember…

  1. “They’re knocking down the Abbey… I cannot let this stand.” Love that.
    -Alicia Audrey

  2. JKBradley says:

    I wondering how many years this soul has lived? As a human? As a god?

    Good read.

    Thanks for sharing.

  3. Wanderer says:

    Definitely not what I was expecting. I love the mystery and the threat you have at the end. Great story!

  4. That last line is wonderful. Promises so much.

  5. Annabelle says:

    Intriguing! I love the ominous ending.

  6. Carrie says:

    dark and powerful. Definitely do not want to mess with this being!

  7. Draug419 says:

    I like this a lot. A lot a lot.

  8. elmowrites says:

    Ooh, ominous writing here, Chris. I’ve got so many questions, but I like the mystery of it all.

  9. I, too, really enjoy the powerful simplicity of “They’re knocking down the Abbey.” This is a really cool piece. Thanks for linking it.

  10. Quickstepp says:

    Nice piece. I agree with the others, the mystery of it is great!

  11. Jacey Faye says:

    I adore this. I adore everything about this, really. Your MC’s voice is wonderful, and almost hypnotic to read, as if they’re casting their spell even on the audience.

  12. Excellent last line.. and a nice combo of prompts

  13. Ooooh, eerie! Love it. 🙂

Comments and criticism always welcome!

