The Queen of the Wild Hunt

Sketch 37 – Terry Whidborne

He took another heavy drag on his cigarette, feeling the warm tentacles of smoke flood his lungs – the rain hammered down, tapping out a frantic morse code against the umbrella he held gingerly over his head. The night thickened as he exhaled, blue-grey ghosts escaping his lungs, coiling, serpentine. The city loomed around him, a vast cathedral. Red-brick walls, shrouded as they leant inward, drunken above the alley.

Rumbling echoes growled, bouncing between the tenements.

He was surrounded.

He ignored her as she crept nearer – he was trained from birth to ignore their kind, to ignore the seed of truth told in fairy tales.

To ignore the monsters lurking in the darkness.

The glowing cherry flared again in the darkness.

He sent the cigarette arcing through the night, a fleeting firefly, hissing into the pond that grew, creeping closer into his garden.

The possums laughed, husky and terrifying in their brutal suddenness, laughing from the eaves, laughing at the night.

Lightning cracked the clouds, brilliant, blinding.

She stood beside him, her obsidian blade drawn.

The Queen of the Wild Hunt took her bounty.

 

Written for Sketch 37 by Terry Whidborne – I just find this image so captivating…I’ve got at least two more stories for this sketch! 

I also used one of this week’s BeKindRewrite prompts Trained From Birth.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

19 thoughts on “The Queen of the Wild Hunt

  1. I like the description of the environ and the easy the smoke interacts with it.

  2. I meant the way the smoke interacts with it. Thought I had corrected my phone’s spelling suggestions…

  3. I love the picture on this and the story is wonderful as well. I love modern twists which include the older fairy-tale style of character.

    • Glad you enjoyed the story, and I love the idea of these older creatures of the darkness stalking the earth in the modern day – scroll up to “Under-represented Monsters” to see more!

  4. Be wary of things that go bump in the night. I liked how the Queen wasn’t real until she was.

  5. […] The Queen of the Wild Hunt […]

  6. Stephanie says:

    Gorgeous. Love the Morse code rain, drunken walls and warm tentacles. Makes me wish I smoked!

  7. elmowrites says:

    Creepy and full of emotive description!

  8. writingsprint says:

    “The possums laughed, husky and terrifying in their brutal suddenness, laughing from the eaves, laughing at the night.” This line will keep me from sleeping tonight. I also love the image of the *queen* of the Wild Hunt. I’m used to the King, who I always thought was a freaky, terrifying-looking guy.

    • Yeah, I thought the Queen was a nice touch – and the Queen of the Faeries always seemed like such a badass to me…oh, and the possums were chuckling when I was writing, terrifying little creeps.

  9. […] I could get to work on a longer project (if you’ve read The Markets of Polynx Road, Together, The Queen of the Wild Hunt or Krislan’s Fine Meats you’ll know what it’s about.) Just wanted to let you […]

Comments and criticism always welcome!

