Goodbye, Estelle

Vampir – Ernst StΓΆhr, 1899

“We need to talk,” she whispered, inches from my ear. Scared the shit out of me.

“This is probably not a good time, Estelle.”

“No time is the right time with you. We need to talk. About you. About us.”

I sighed, exasperated.

It was not a good time.

I stood, moving away from his neck, his life draining from him slowly, slowly.

What a waste.

His blood tasted sweet against my lips, as I turned to her, saw the shock written across her face in bold strokes.

He wrinkled, dried out and drained. visibly aging in seconds – I gave my time to him, what little of it was left.

And took his, without sharing, without inviting her.

I closed the door behind her to just a crack, and watched her aging face sink, the crow’s feet and wrinkles collapsing inward on themselves as she hissed, knowing I was too powerful now for her to control.

She didn’t have long left, and I smiled.

It had taken an age, but in the end one moment alone was all I had needed.

“You little bitch!” Venom dripped from her tongue as she stared through me, but I was finished being intimidated.

Just because she created me doesn’t mean she owns me.

And now, finally, I would be rid of her.

I smiled again, as I slipped through the crack in the door.

“Goodbye, Estelle…”

 

Written for the Trifecta Writing Challenge:

and for BeKindRewrite:

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

20 thoughts on “Goodbye, Estelle

  1. Mike says:

    A great story. Sounds like one hell of a scary place to be.

  2. Fangtastic craik πŸ˜€

  3. The Real Cie says:

    Ooh, backstabbery and betrayage! Always an interesting plot twist. Also, excellent picture choice.

  4. Draug419 says:

    Creepy and awesome.

  5. Carrie says:

    vampir’s rawk πŸ˜‰

  6. It starts out so normal and then gets so creepy. : )

  7. Thanks Steph! Trying to mislead you into the normal…

  8. Pretty crazy! I enjoyed it. One moment alone is just worth… So much! πŸ˜‰
    My response to the prompt: http://www.aliciaaudrey.com/blog/trifectaprompt-crack/

  9. […] (when I missed him last week) and another (this […]

Comments and criticism always welcome!

