Yesterday

I don't know where I found this, but it's brilliant.

Dusk scars the sky rusty, red. Scabbing over the wounded earth below, pockmarked and torn.

Skeletal fingers drag at the grey-blue-black clouds, hands outstretched to plead clemency from the heavens, skeletal fingers of concrete and shattered glass and shattered memories.

I don’t know why I keep coming back here.

 

Vicious spears stabbed into the earth, radiant, lighting night sky, as sirens rang out around the barking voices of anti-aircraft cannons.

Like silver predators in the sky, picked out, caressed by searchlights.

Geoffrey dashed ahead of me, his brown fur mud-marked, ash-stained.

He sniffed, chased, barked at the phantoms lingering around us in the ruins.

He pissed against the burnt wood of the still-locked door as I stood outside, staring into the crippled house that was once a home, conjuring dreams of yesterday, watching the shadows swell.

I don’t know why I keep coming back here.

Written for the latest Terrible Minds Flash Fiction challenge, another random concept generator. I got a post-apocalyptic setting, featuring a haunted house, a locked door and a troublesome dog. I also used “rusty,” a prompt word brought to you by the Trifecta Writing Challenge. Really just wanted to rattle out some flash fiction while my sick family is asleep, and get back in the mood for editing/rewriting and for writing these two 3000 word stories with deadlines next week…

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

25 thoughts on “Yesterday

  1. Great imagery here Chris – post apocalyptic always works 😉

  2. agincourtdb says:

    I’ll ignore the formatting weirdness and just say: I liked this alot, very nice! p.s., is that ‘Last Of Us’ concept art?

    • I don’t know why WordPress sometimes does that…it looks fine in “Add New Post” before mutating into weirdness out here. FIxed now. Glad you liked the story, and I have no idea as to where the image is from. I found it on an aggregator site years ago, and they never credited the artist. It’s beautiful, though.

  3. Ah – another challenge, I love collecting these (referring to terrible minds).

  4. Great piece. You wove all the elements together wonderfully.

  5. barbara says:

    love the repeat of “I don’t know why I keep coming back here.” Very effective.

    thanks for linking up this weekend.

  6. Cheney says:

    I liked the poetic imagery of this piece, and the ruined world – it can be a beautiful thing. I’ve never done one of Chuck’s challenges before but they seem like fun, maybe I will this week.

    • Yeah, you should definitely give Chuck a go – usually the random challenges give me something I’ve never tried before – always nice to have a change, that’s how I started writing The River of Crawling Death (scroll to the top of the page, have a read, tell me what you think!)

  7. Varsha says:

    Beautiful imagery, I love post-apocalyptic settings, and this is why.

    • Thanks! There’s so much character in the post-apocalyptic world already, and the scars of civilisation stretch across the characters – I love post-apocalyptic stories too!

  8. jannatwrites says:

    I agree – great imagery. I’m just curious what kind of creature Geoffrey is with his mud-marked brown fur 🙂

  9. The repetition of “I don’t know why I keep coming back here” drives home the loss and melancholy. So well done, and as others have stated, the imagery is wonderful.

  10. deanabo says:

    I agree with everyone else. Your imagery is really good. Also, I love how you used your repetition. It brings so much more power to your words.

  11. Tina says:

    The imagery was intense–brittle and violent. I really wanted to know why he kept going back there!

  12. KymmInBarcelona says:

    Yes, the repetition is very effective. And, oddly, so is the dog piss!

Comments and criticism always welcome!

