Jonathan

“JONATHAN!”

I heard her screaming, and just pushed my headphones deeper into my ears.

Pretended I couldn’t hear her.

“JONATHAN! Get down here this instant, young man!”

She pushed her voice through the anti-spam filters on my iPod, imposing herself into my consciousness. I knew I shouldn’t have shown her how to do that.

“Coming Mum, jeez! How many times have I told you not to interrupt me when I’m working?”

I trundled down the stairs, teenaged indignation written bold across my face.

“What?”

“Don’t ‘what’ me, young man, you get out here and explain yourself right now!”

I burst onto the patio, and stopped.

“What the hell is that thing?”

“Why don’t you tell me, Jonathan? What have you been doing up in your room?”

I do dabble in gene-modding, but this was beautiful work.

Definitely not mine.

Not that I’d ever admit that.

Written for this week’s Friday Fictioneers

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

16 thoughts on “Jonathan

  1. redplace says:

    Ha, brilliant. Such a clever little piece of writing.

  2. elappleby says:

    Very clever – I like ‘gene-modding’ – it’ll be a commonplace teen hobby all too soon 🙂

  3. Very good, Chris. You caught that age perfectly.

    janet

  4. She pushed her voice through the anti-spam filters on my iPod, imposing herself into my consciousness. <—i really like this sentence. worded well and gives me a sense of his frustration. 🙂

  5. One of those wonderful cliffhangers – we have a good picture of Johnathan and his mom, but there’s clearly something REALLY strange going on in their world!

  6. Great piece. You captured the teenager perfectly in a few words.

  7. cute piece. And then the thingie ate mom and the teenager….

  8. neenslewy says:

    Fantastic – liked the twist that it wasn’t his work.

  9. Dear Chris,

    Gene modding? I’m not sure which is more frightening–that or a teenager doing it? Clever story.

    shalom,

    Rochelle

  10. kz says:

    lol that’s quite a hobby. interesting and scary ^^ well done

Comments and criticism always welcome!

