The River of Crawling Death (Part V)

“I am not yet a prisoner, madam,” I said, struggling to remove myself from the vice of her hands, “take your hands off me.” Shifting, I dropped my shoulder and turned, twisting away, slipping my leg between hers.

I’ve picked up a thing or two on my travels.

The crowd evolved, rapidly mutating, covert agents revealing themselves, revealing the true nature of the threat. Quite the welcoming committee, come out to greet me. Hands reached down for pistols, more as a warning than in promise of actual violence.

And I believe I’ve already mentioned how I respond to warnings.

I fell forward onto her, my knee landing in the small of her back, hard, as she lay on the cool, gold and aquamarine tiling of the aerodrome floor – still in the colours of the old king, the ancien régime of Val Verde, I noted.

I reached down and drew out her machine pistol, mentally counting my assailants, noting where each shot would best be placed. “Welcome to Val Verde,” I muttered, more to myself than to her, although she responded with a grunt. There was little else she could do, what with my weight on her kidneys. A space cleared around us, and I saw the taciturn nod and panicked hands a-flutter in one of the watching men. Their commanding officer, or so he did appear. Small and dark, a peasant now risen up, brusquely, thrust to the top of the chain of command.

Hard eyes, cold with the memories of brutal deaths.

Hard eyes, that told of bitter horrors witnessed, and thoroughly enjoyed.

Of the suspicious click of friendly fire, and the manic grinning silence that rang out afterward, deafening.

He who fights monsters quickly becomes one.

Part Five of The River of Crawling Death, my choose-the-protagonist’s-adventure serial. If you haven’t read part one, click HERE

In this piece I used the Trifecta Writing Challenge word o’ the week, appear (to have an outward aspect : seem <appears happy enough>) without using the plural or past tense. Aaaand I used three of the BeKindRewrite prompts (in one sentence!) Suspicious click, friendly fire and grinning silence. Seemed to fit in perfectly with the story. 

Also, no poll today – it’s hard to think up new ways to word the polls! 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

17 thoughts on “The River of Crawling Death (Part V)

  1. Your writing gallops along with energy and wit. Really enjoy this snapshot of action :)))

  2. The Real Cie says:

    Those old pulp magazine covers are always hilarious.

  3. MOV says:

    Cool piece! makes me want to read what happened before and also after!

    best,
    MOV

  4. jannatwrites says:

    Nice last line. I think there’s truth to that!

  5. Action-packed adventure, per usual! Thanks for linking up, Chris.

  6. Draug419 says:

    I like his calculating mind even as he pins a hostile to the ground.

  7. KymmInBarcelona says:

    Adore this line, and its placement
    I’ve picked up a thing or two on my travels.
    Keep em coming, Chris!

  8. shannon says:

    Very well done slipping all the prompts in seamlessly, sometimes it’s easy to tell when they’re just fit in somewhere just to fit ’em in. I was also impressed with the action sequences- sometimes they’re so detailed you’re so busy trying to picture the whole thing that you lose out on the point of it. I would, however, like to read a longer installments….damn word limits 😉

Comments and criticism always welcome!

