The A to Z Challenge, in Review

So, the A to Z Challenge, eh? That was fun. It was both easier than I thought it would be, and more difficult. I started out, on April 1st, with stars in my eyes and an angry, berating wife in the background – we were going on holidays, and what made me think that writing thirty stories (well, twenty-six) in thirty days was a good idea for our holidays?

It was the challenge aspect that enticed me – I’d been struggling to write every day, and the prospect of having to do twenty-six stories was both frightening and exciting. Once I’d made that commitment, there was no going back. Originally, the plan was to write a story based on a word, chosen at random from my copy of Roget’s Thesaurus, in any genre, a variety of themes. A smorgasbord of stories, if you will. Hence, A was for Abomination. And then I remembered a post I made in the murky, not-so-distant past (last year some time), a post where I lamented the seemingly endless reappearance of the same monsters. I called out for more stories about the Under-Represented Monsters in the world – here was  a perfect opportunity to explore these critters.

So I took it.

I put down the thesaurus and reached deep into Wikipedia, scouting out a new monster each day of the week, looking for these monsters left to moulder in the imaginations of our ancestors (getting poetic, sorry.) And while some of the monsters I represented seem to still scuttle in and out of our collective conscious (like Bigfoot, or the Tanuki), I still  felt that there were stories to tell, places that hadn’t been explored.

 

I learnt about new monsters, monsters I’d never heard of, monsters that haven’t had a new story written and published about them in decades – and some of them were awesome. Some were creepy, others pathetic, but there they were, my Under-Represented Monsters.

I had a great time, reading about them and trying to write new stories everyday, trying not to recycle the tales I was telling. Changing perspectives and points of view, changing the outcomes, the winners and the losers.

I loved it.

And I love having you guys along for the ride. Hopefully there were plenty of monsters that you had never heard of, monsters that you thought you knew but seen in a new light. As usual, the stories I loved seemed less popular than those that I wrote and posted, uncommited. There’s something to learn there, I’m sure.

Twenty-six monsters, one month.

But the list isn’t exhausted yet.

I think I know what I’m going to do for next year’s A to Z Challenge…

Thanks for stopping by, and for commenting, gang!

Also, a big thank you needs to go out to:

Steph, from BeKindReWrite

&

The Trifectans

for all the wonderful prompts, and to 

Patricia Lynne and The Capillary

for all the Twitter action!

IMG_6956[1]

A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, J

K, L, M, N, O, P, Q, R, S, T

U, V, W, X, Y, Z

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “The A to Z Challenge, in Review

  1. I loved learning about new monsters thanks to your theme. Your stories were awesome too. And you’re welcome for the twitter shout outs.

  2. Andy says:

    Congratulations on completing the challenge! Just stopping by to say hello. Visiting from the 2013 Post A-Z Road Trip! Thoughts Of Beauty In The Stillness Of Dawn…

Comments and criticism always welcome!

