Rokurokubi – A to Z Blogging Challenge

Rokurokubi

It has been too long.

For almost a century I’ve been lost – surviving on the meagre pickings of the swamplands.

Rats, cockroaches, centipedes.

Growing in strength, now to charge into the city.

Tonight, I feast.

Written for this weekend’s Trifecta Writing Challenge (thirty-three words as well as the words centurylost and charge) as well as for my series on Under-represented Monsters for the A to Z Blogging Challenge. The Rokurokubi is a terrifying monster, her neck stretches and grows, seeking out human flesh…

Comments and criticism always welcome!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

28 thoughts on “Rokurokubi – A to Z Blogging Challenge

  1. Great job. A Rokurokubi sounds terrifying… except for the next stretching. I would probably getting eaten because I was too busy laughing at how it looks with a long neck.

  2. Draug419 says:

    I love your monster pieces. This is another great one!

  3. I think the East has us beat when it comes to monsters. This is a unique use of the prompt words.

    Thanks for linking up!

    • My pleasure, as always. We’ve got some pretty cool monsters too – it’s just that they’re hidden behind werewolves and vampires and zombies these days (those three are cool too, just overdone.) I’ll need to do the A to Z Challenge next year, and bring out some more Western monsters!

  4. Mike says:

    A great take on the prompt & an excellent use of the words. Chilling last sentence.

  5. Uhoh! Perhaps willing sacrifices would keep her in the swamp? I’m enjoying reading the underrated monster posts. Good take on the prompt.

    • This one seems particularly nasty, so I’m not sure they would! Most Rokurokubi only want to drain your “essence” while you sleep, leaving you feeling exhausted in the morning…maybe one lives near me…

  6. Diane Turner says:

    Great use of the prompt words. Love that last sentence. Yikes.

  7. atrm61 says:

    This is my favourite up till now-love this kind of scary tales-makes me feel like a child reading a cool fairy tale:-)Well done!

  8. Linda Vernon says:

    Your recipes for them must be better than mine! HA! Really good Chris!

  9. jannatwrites says:

    Ah, this is what nightmares are made of!

  10. What a disturbing creature. o__O

  11. cool piece … Tonight I feast … perfect 🙂

  12. KymmInBarcelona says:

    Gave me a flash of Interview with a Vampire. Creepy.

  13. rangewriter says:

    Oh no, gear up for a pandemic!

  14. […] Rokurokubi – A to Z Blogging Challenge […]

  15. […] Rokurokubi – A to Z Blogging Challenge […]

Comments and criticism always welcome!

