Odei – A to Z Blogging Challenge

Odei wore a smile, and little else.

He rarely did.

His beard bristled with indignation.

It often did.

The targets of his indignation could range from a slow-boiling kettle to attending police officers, as it did tonight.

“Why should I?” he thundered, his voice booming above narrow, cobblestone streets, bouncing, echoing between the leaning, terracotta apartment blocks surrounding him, the shock of it temporarily stunning the pale spectre of the sergeant, blocking the roadway.

“Why should I put my arraioa clothes on? I’m in a state of nature, txortalari!”

He was drunk.

As usual.

It’s hardly an anomaly, when you’re a thunder god.

More like the standard, run-of-the-mill condition.

His cheeks held that healthy red colour that showed how much he’d had to drink. Around three bottles of Vi Negre, maybe another of Cava. He was rolling drunk but still standing, as storm clouds boiled overhead, twisting and curling alongside his rage.

“Calm down, Odi, come on, let’s go.”

I tried to drag him away, but if he doesn’t want to leave, he doesn’t leave.

His thundering continued, his words slurring and disjointed, “Force o’ natcha…beautiful…”

“We know, Odi,” I whispered, “we know. Come on now.”

Reluctantly he surrendered, leaving behind the ertzaina, still gawking, as though he was hanging on every word.

“Oh, Lamia, my love, I am sorry, so sorry,”

I held his weight on my shoulders, dragged him home.

There are advantages and disadvantages to be a goddess.

Written for the A to Z Blogging Challenge, as part of my series on Under-represented Monsters. Technically Odei is not a “monster”, more a personification of a force of nature – he is a personification of thunder for the Basque people in northern Spain. A thunder god. Lamiak are monsters/goddesses, though. All the italicised words are Basque words – ertzaina means policeman, arraioa means fucking and txortalari means fucker. Apparently. Here is a page of Basque swearwords (handy!) I also used the Trifecta Writing Challenge prompt Colo(u)r and the BeKindReWrite prompts We Know, Hanging on a Word, and Anomaly. Comments and criticisms always welcome!

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

23 thoughts on “Odei – A to Z Blogging Challenge

  1. kdillmanjones says:

    The photo fits so well with the story- it really drew me into the powerful world of the gods. Really enjoyed it.

  2. jannatwrites says:

    Cool twist on the wife caring for a drunk husband. I’d say this was a huge disadvantage of being a goddess. (Had to chuckle at the part about him being in a state of nature!)

  3. Draug419 says:

    Oh I like this! The writing is top-notch and the characterization is awesome! 😀

  4. This is a lot of fun to read. I think the pros outweigh the cons of being a goddess, however. Cosmic power and beauty and all that.

    Thanks for linking up!

  5. atrm61 says:

    Ah,a great read-enjoyed the drunkenness of Thunder God & his arrogance in insisting he was going au naturelle,lol!Poor wifey-Lamia or not,no respite for her! 😉

  6. KymmInBarcelona says:

    Ya gotta love a drunk god of thunder! And if it’s a basque god of thunder, even better. This was a fun read, Chris.

    I was a bit thrown by ‘vi negre’ and ‘cava’, which are catalan, not basque.

    • My sources have mislead me! What are the correct terms, Kymm?

      • KymmInBarcelona says:

        Basque is like a made up language to me. I’ve looked up some terms, but I don’t know any native basque speakers. I know they are great eaters and drinkers, but the drink I know most from the basque country is Pacharán, or Patxaran, a strong berry liqueur.
        I think the basic term for wine is “ardo”, but I see “ardoa” a lot. Might be a conjugation. There also appears to be a region-specific white wine called Txakoli. They also use “cava”, but as we all use “cava”, which is a catalán term for the champagne they make here.
        Having tried, and abused, Patxaran, I can vouch for it affording a god a good drunk for his money.

      • Thanks, I’ll have to see if it can get this human properly drunk for his money.

  7. Leonard says:

    You had me at Drunk Gods. Well done!

  8. most entertaining – even goddesses have to deal with babysitting drunkards!

  9. Maggie says:

    Great imagination and well written! Congratulations!

  10. Poor mythological deities, always so misunderstood in our world. Another amusing chapter in the monster series – with it’s own unique tone. Loving the variety.

  11. […] Odei – A to Z Blogging Challenge […]

Comments and criticism always welcome!

