Huginn – A to Z Challenge

“I once stood and watched a man die for knowledge, stretched out on the lightning-raveged limbs of the world-tree. They took his eye, plucked it from his face so he could truly see.”

“I have spread wide my wings and flown, seen the world and its many, violent faces – seen men choke, kicking out at thin air while I perched above them on the gallows, and none would shoo me away.”

“I have called out and greeted each new birth of the sun for time immemorial, I have forgotten more familiar faces than you will ever see, whispering secrets into my master’s ear, each day sent forth to fly.”

“I am my master’s thought, my brother is his mind – together we will remember the future and tell tales of the past, will mock the Valkyries and seek the fresh smoke of battles, forever hungry for another ounce of flesh.”

“Today I beat my wings and call out for my brother, for my master, for the swinging bodies of hung men. For blood and the carrion-taste of battle. Today I fly alone, chased from doorsteps and fields, my echoing voice a promise of solitude. Of loneliness.”

“I fly alone and perched beside those still hanging on the outskirts, whispering secret knowledge that none will ever hear, just as I whisper now to you – but what do you care? Will I whisper to another? Nevermore. To you I’m just another raven.”

Another short story written for the A to Z Challenge, part of my series on under-represented monsters. I also managed to squeeze in a few of the BeKindRewrite prompts, namely fresh smoke, an ounce of flesh and familiar face (which I was going to use in a different fashion…) For those who didn’t know, Huginn is one of the two ravens of Odin, and his brother is named Muninn. Although I have no evidence that he was the raven cawing at Edgar Allen Poe…

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Huginn – A to Z Challenge

  1. Wow. I never knew Odin had ravens. But then, my knowledge of Norse mythology doesn’t extend much beyond Dirk Gently and the Avengers. Through I do recall reading the creation myth.

    This is really beautiful.

    • Thanks, Steph! I do love me some Dirk Gently, although I’m not much of an Avengers (or any comic for that matter) fan. Another really good (and modern) take on the Odin mythology is Neil Gaiman’s American Gods, I highly recommend it!

  2. Wanderer says:

    This was fantastic—a great read. I love the imagery.

Comments and criticism always welcome!

