Bigfoot – A to Z Blogging Challenge

20130402-143949.jpg

I’ve had enough. Enough of people tramping through the woods, enough of inept spies in high-vis vests, enough of hidden camera traps and tranquilliser guns.

At first it was just a bit of fun – my father showed me the ropes, taught me how to raid Appalachian farmhouses without the stinging metal bite of buckshot against my thighs, taught me how to know when a pack of hunters has had just the right amount of bourbon to take grainy photos instead of pot shots.

It was a game.

But now you come barging in, crashing onto my property without an invitation.

Trespassing. I know now what it feels like to have my privacy violated, to have my children threatened…I’ve had enough.

Yes, I’m real.

Sasquatch, Big Foot – whatever you want to call me, my name is Clarence. My wife is Cindy.

Who cares if I wear a wristwatch?

Ok, the A to Z Blogging Challenge. I wrote about a were-beastie yesterday, and took my inspiration from my copy of Roget’s Thesaurus. Today I realised that I had already thought up the perfect “theme” for my A to Z challenge: the Under-Represented Monsters. So today is Bigfoot – hardly under-represented, but I’ve never seen a Bigfoot story from its perspective. So, onto those monsters then…

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

20 thoughts on “Bigfoot – A to Z Blogging Challenge

  1. timsbrannan says:

    Cool! Second Bigfoot post I have read today!

    Gotta love that guy.


    Tim Brannan
    The Other Side and The Witch
    Red Sonja: She-Devil with a Sword
    The Freedom of Nonbelief

  2. rhonda says:

    This made me laugh! Can’t wait to see what you do with the rest of the A to Z Challenge!

  3. jess says:

    This was wonderful! Being from East Texas, I heard a lot of tales about Big Foot. Found myself looking for him everytime I drove through the Piney Woods. 🙂

  4. Bethie says:

    Great story. Reminded me of Ron Carlson’s stories Bigfoot Stole My Wife and I am Bigfoot. Looking forward to seeing more Under-Represented Monsters.

  5. I got a chuckle at this — particularly the name “Clarence”. Not sure why that is… Oh well! 🙂

  6. Joe Owens says:

    Even bigfoot has feelings! Nice humor piece and wishing you well in the challenge.

  7. Jill says:

    LOL! That is awesome. Never in a million years would I have thought to write something from Big Foot’s perspective. Great job. 🙂

  8. Stephanie says:

    This is like Harry and the Hendersons, but funnier. Nice!

  9. Very clever and funny, looking forward to the rest of your A to Z

  10. Nice. Love the POV from Bigfoot.

  11. […] Chris and again and another […]

  12. Bee says:

    I’ve always loved stories from the “enemy/monster”‘s point of view, such as Grendel. Good luck with the A-Z Challenge!

  13. […] of the monsters I represented seem to still scuttle in and out of our collective conscious (like Bigfoot, or the Tanuki), I still  felt that there were stories to tell, places that hadn’t been […]

  14. […] 8. Chris White Writes: Just another author writing short stories instead of his novel… […]

Comments and criticism always welcome!

