Now Let Me Cry

Try not to dwell upon the woman behind the curtain.

“Behind the Curtain” Carl Ludwig Friedrich Becker

We’ll get to her, in good time.

We saw the sea in glimpses, mercurial silver flashings between the barren hilltops, a promise of temporary reprieve from the indomitable summer. The promise of a fresh sea breeze cool against my skin, the promise of fraudulent courtship, indecent and committed without Father’s consent.

Please gentlemen, a moment – she’ll still be there when I’m finished.

He was beautiful, an Adonis – pulled me from the tumbling boil of the breakers, although I could’ve stood if I had to. He swept his hair from his eyes, those beautiful amber eyes.

I promised I would be his, and he laughed, and assured me that many others had made the same promise, that many others stayed for only a while, to catch the curative airs of the ocean before they left him, with the taste of a kiss against gorgeous lips. With the taste of salt water hiding his tears – oh, how I loved him, the moment I felt his arms around me.

I promised to meet him the next afternoon, to see him there in his cathedral by the shore. He didn’t tell me about her – yes, her there behind the curtain.

I stormed off, a tempest of tears and broken promises only imagined, never made.

I was furious, as you’d expect, and when I saw her here I  couldn’t quite control myself.

Murder, yes, murder most foul.

There was a king tide that night, as the waves pummelled against the rockwall, striving in their ceaseless battle to reclaim the shore. Each night the battle lines recast, each night new trenches thrown up on the beachhead, manned with the detritus of the oceans.

It wasn’t until I found him, washed up amongst the sea-scum and piles of driftwood beneath the cliffs that I realised the truth.

A monster, he was, a beast.

A man under water, a beast above it.

“A Crowned Merman” Arthur Rackham

Just a quick little story written for Trifecta’s prompt Dwella : to keep the attention directed —used with on or upon<tried not to dwell on my fears> OR b : to speak or write insistently —used with on or upon<reporters dwelling on the recent scandal> as well as for one of this week’s BeKindReWrite prompts: The Woman Behind the Curtain

Comments and criticisms most welcome!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Now Let Me Cry

  1. I love the wording here: “a tempest of tears and broken promises”.

    Beautifully written.

  2. kz says:

    i must say, i’m in awe of your writing style.
    i read your piece twice because i love your choice of words.
    beautifully written.

  3. Draug419 says:

    This is such a cool piece. I love the description of the waves’ war against the shore.

  4. Libby says:

    wow – CHARLES!! I am impressed with this piece! Love how you toy with up about the woman behind the curtain 🙂

  5. atrm61 says:

    Wow!Beautiful lines-“the promise of fraudulent courtship, indecent and committed without Father’s consent.”Love the way you whetted the curiosity of the reader & loved the end-Merman!Wonder if the woman was his mate-a mermaid?:-)

  6. You write so elegantly. You are a magnificent wordsmith. Kudos.

  7. Stephanie says:

    Gorgeous. And brilliant, particularly: broken promises only imagined, never made.

  8. KP says:

    I agree with Stephanie – a phrase that encompasses so many errors made in the name of love. Darn, I’ve even been caught, m’self!

Comments and criticism always welcome!

