Christmas Lights

I just want to walk into a department store and pull all the tinsel down around me. I want to rip all the Christmas lights from the walls and tear the speakers to the ground, screaming to the heavens as Security swamp me, shouting “It’s not even fucking December yet!” Mounting a war on Christmas.

I wanna go into a bookstore and take all the Bibles and Qurans and the fucking Vedas and put them next to L. Ron Hubbard’s books in the fiction section.

I want to walk into a bank and cry at the feet of some millionaire, whispering near incoherently “Why can’t we just start again?”

I want to forget the world and every damned thing in it for ten minutes and look at you and realise that everything is going to be alright – even though it won’t be.

I want to open the floodgates and fill all the Earth with the boiling, frothy detritus of your industry and push you all off my raft and die alone.

It’s only a hollow victory – but maybe then God who look down and apologise. “Sorry, I didn’t see you there.” Or maybe he’ll ask “Where has my collection gone?”

And maybe then we’ll be able to start over.

Written for this week’s Trifecta Writing Challenge prompt Hollow

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Christmas Lights

  1. kgwaite says:

    original sin or free will? With you on all this Christmas stuff – I’ve grown to hate the season because of all that it now represents.

  2. deanabo says:

    This really makes you think. Great writing!

  3. trifectawriting says:

    You know what? I want to go with you. Thanks for linking up.

  4. Draug419 says:

    Yeah! Break down the establishment! lol I totally feel the same way.

    The image of you sinking into a group of security guards like a victim of a zombie horde is an excellent one. 😀

  5. Oh yeah! Putting all the Bibles, Qurans and Vedas in the fiction section with L.Ron. Good one. Your frustration shines through. Nice writing.

  6. It is enough to make the sanest of us mad, isn’t it? Really felt your passion here.

  7. Gina says:

    I’m totally with you here. I don’t care for what the season represents anymore either. Your words re: the fiction section…awesome! I actually laughed out loud. But the very best part which hits home with me, made me laugh as well picturing it, is what is said to the security guards. Well done!

  8. kymminbarcelona says:

    Blaming, banishing, cajoling god all in one short piece, wow! Love the boiling frothy detritus.

  9. Even though I don’t agree with this guy, you’ve managed to make me like him. A lot.

Comments and criticism always welcome!

