We Sit in Dappled Sunlight

We sit in dappled sunlight, the amber sky of sunrise settling in again on another quiet start to the morning.

She lies in my arms, dreams punctuated with silent whimpers, clawing at phantoms and mirages in her mind.

We sit in dappled sunlight, and my heart skips a beat as I stare at closed eyes, her yellow-shaded skin in striking contrast against my skin.

She needs the dappled sunlight, to wash her jaundice away. She needs a warm milk breakfast, needs my warmth, my breathing, my heartbeat regulating hers.

Two days home, my little baby girl.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “We Sit in Dappled Sunlight

  1. helenmayblen says:

    Chris, I have no clever words or comments, but wanted to let you know how lovely this is. And congratulations. I’m so excited for your growing family.

  2. Christine says:

    Lovely, lovely piece! I remember those first few days well. Congratulations on the new addition. Three girls, eh? Yikes. 🙂

  3. L.M. Murphy says:

    Lovely piece of writing. Congratulations on the new family member. 🙂

  4. Congratulations! What a lovely tribute to your new daughter.

    (But on another note — where’s the beard?!) 😉

  5. Oh my goodness! Congratulations again! This is lovely.

  6. KP says:

    Congratulations! And a lovely piece, too. So gentle and loving. Lovely.

Comments and criticism always welcome!

