The Listener

A muttering rose from the crowd of unimpressed masters standing before my masterpiece, their whisperings quiet, unintelligible.

They reached me only as the shadows of voices, filtered by the immense forest of columns erected between us.

Forward I crept, on burning calves. Silent through the stone glade, I peered, unseen through the tallow smoke – begging for praise, for motivation. Desperately waiting to live once more, my thoughts away, birds on the wing.

“A poor attempt at divine instruction.”

“A sketchbook of ample bosoms and curvaceous Madonnas.”

Failure. My heart felt borrowed, stolen from another’s chest in search of fleeting illumination.

Canvases fueled the flames.

Just a quick story for BeKindRewrite with the prompts Waiting to live & Borrowed heart, as well as for Trifecta Writing Challenge, who’s prompt this week was

 AMPLE (adj.)

1: generous or more than adequate in size, scope, or capacity<there was room for an ample garden>
2: generously sufficient to satisfy a requirement or need<they had ample money for the trip>
3: buxom, portly <an ample figure>
Comments and Criticism always welcome!
Tagged , , , , , ,

17 thoughts on “The Listener

  1. jackkastor says:

    Funny how the word, ‘ample’ is almost exclusively followed by the word, ‘bosom.’

  2. Wisper says:

    I think you’ve created a beautiful scene in a very short space. Your use of the prompts was elegant. Well done.

  3. Annabelle says:

    Oh, no! I enjoyed the language here; there are a lot of lovely images and phrases, particularly in the third paragraph.

  4. Lovely language here. I particularly like the phrase, “They reached me only as the shadows of voices.”

    I was truly surprised that more prompts didn’t use the phrase “ample bosom”. Seems only natural!

  5. I, Rodius says:

    The easy dismissal of art, the embodiment of the voice inside the head of the artist, worst fears realized.

  6. Carrie says:

    Applicable to all forms of art, even writing…are you sharing your innermost fears Chris 😉

    Nice job

  7. “Silent through the stone glades,” excellent way to describe the floors and columns of a gallery. My daughter is an artist, and she says it’s easier to take rejection by letter (a la my sheaf of “ding” letters for poetry submissions) than to have experts in front of your work, sharing opinions within earshot. This really gets it – but I’m so sad the artist burned the canvases, because they are only cobblestones on the way to the good stuff… Great! Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.com/2012/09/17/incantations-in-jazz/

    • They say that Picasso burnt his early works to stay warm through winter – as an already starving artist he could no longer afford to pay for both canvasses and for firewood, so he recycled… I shudder to think of how much we have lost to the flames.

  8. I love, My heart felt borrowed. Perfect. Thanks for sharing!

  9. Bam, you hit us with anticipation and longing right with the first sentence! I have no idea who this person is, but I immediately identify with him, I’m immediately pulling for him. And I was sufficiently sad at the end. : )

  10. elmowrites says:

    You capture well the artist’s craving for praise and validation, especially from masters. This is how I feel when I wait for people to read my blog posts too! But the trick is not to set fire to the canvases even when the feedback is negative.

Comments and criticism always welcome!

