The Daughter’s Song

 

 

 

 

My world opened, torn asunder in the freshening light of dawn, torn and exposed as dewdrops gathered before  running along the veins of this new world. She is gone.  She the all-powerful, she the all-consuming.

 

Eyes red, she had shimmied across her tightrope. Her legs akimbo as she felt out for vibrations, seeking the signals of her prey.

 

My world is gone – destroyed. A shadow, deep as night and with hurricane wings blotted out the soft light of the sun, ripped through her gossamer steel.

 

My mother, the once mighty.

 

I will rebuild her memory, rebuild her legacy.

 

Strand by strand.

 

Just a quick story to try and force my writer’s block to disappear, which I think it has…now I’m thinking about parallel universes and other SciFi action. Excellent. More posts tonight, me thinks. Oh, yes, this story was written for the Friday Fictioneers! Comments and criticism always welcome!

 

 

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “The Daughter’s Song

  1. billgncs says:

    very nice — good twist and point of view, and akimbo is such a fine word on the tongue.

  2. Very different and I’ve seen some odd takes on this story this weekend. Thanks for dropping by my blog.

  3. Paul says:

    Masterful. Now there’s a word I don’t normally use. A perfect reveal of who the narrator is and what her character is like. Though I did not get a sense of the sex of the young spider through your writing but from the title, I do not think that detracts at all.

  4. nicely done! you’ve brought out the strength in the daughter so beautifully..

  5. dmmacilroy says:

    I agree with paul. nuff said.

    Aloha,

    Doug

Comments and criticism always welcome!

