Forever Alone

Alone.

Forgotten.

Abandoned.

I can’t remember when last I saw them, when I last saw my Master and his Mistress. A Babel of voices, pouring down from those glass walled towers, their facades sliced open, bisected by balconies slung high like so many diving boards. A swirling, overwhelming melee of voices and tongues, indecipherable through that roaring hubbub of their own making.

Alone. Forgotten. A tsunami of sound, drowning out the silence I long for in my isolation – I cast my own voice into that wall of noise that threatens to engulf me. I sing my song of sorrow – a song for the lonesome. A song of regret. Alone and forgotten. Chained, imprisoned. I sing for my Master, I sing for those incorporeal voices – until I hear the blessed melody of his voice, rising above fractured, thronging noises.

I hear his voice.

“Somebody shut that bloody dog up!”

 

<em>Something I wrote some time ago, I’ve had shocking writer’s block, I’ve not even been able to do much in the way of rewriting…although I think my one of my Twisters this week may go some way to explaining it. I’ll post them soon too, I promise!</em>

Tagged , , , , , ,

One thought on “Forever Alone

  1. chris, i really liked this. at first i thought it might be scifi or horror, but was somewhat shocked to discover the ending. i have been reading some of your other work from time to time, and i have thoroughly enjoyed that which i have read. you truly are a very talented writer.

    i also am a writer, but i evidently write in a way that does not find merit with many, for i seldom if ever generate enough reaction in those few who chose to actually read my works to cause them to find my work even worthy of comment.

    but that is alright, i do not write to please the fickle and judgmental masses, but rather to feed a need within my own soul. let them accept my words and me or not, i will remain true to my soul.

    once again, great job.

    MARAntha D. JENelle/MARADJEN

Comments and criticism always welcome!

