Always and Forever Hungry

There are things in this world that cannot be kept hidden from the eyes of children. Certain things stick in their minds as worthy of further investigation – secrets best kept from the prying inquisitions of grown-ups. Secrets guarded as closely by these children as their mountains of sugar each Halloween. We lurk in our world of shadows, known only through the whispers of children and therefore safe. Protected by society’s ignorance of those their juniors, those second-class citizens. And a “normal” child is so easily converted to a belief in our etheric realm – you even aid us in our mission, with your legends of Santa Clause and of the Tooth Fairy, legends we implanted only to further our cause.

She shivered at my touch. This one I will be sad to take – her eyes, eyes that reflect back the face of ages, that reflect her sympathy, her compassion. She understood why it must be done – that always makes it harder. She understood and yet still she shivered in the darkness, silently terrified before those Watchers who stood invisible, their presence only hinted at by the depth of silence and the heavy weight of the world around us. It must be done.

Another child will disappear; her face remembered on the local news, on milk cartons and the “Have you seen this girl?” questions on police officers’ lips. Her name remembered for a week, for a month or a year. Remembered until she is eventually forgotten.

She will join our shadow legion, this one. Questions may be asked of our intentions, of our plans. Of our alleged cruelty. Questions may be asked, but they will only be answered with another question of our own: How many times have we monsters saved you? Your questions answered by another question, a question whose answer you will never know.

We do not take our decisions lightly.

We take them so that you need not.

Be grateful our price is so low, even though we are hungry.

Always and forever hungry.

Just a quick early morning story for this week’s Trifecta Writing Challenge and BeKindRewrite prompts: Normal(from Trifecta) and Things you cannot hide, Mountain of Sugar and The Monsters Saved Us. Comments and criticism welcomed

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Always and Forever Hungry

  1. Wow. This really resonated with me. Just today I saw a Missing sticker on the back of a truck, and I thought about all the missing kids out there. I wondered where they go, how many were taken and how many were forced out or left on their own. I like your answer to my question.

    Have you read Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children? This reminds me of that.

    Great job with the prompt. Thanks for linking up.

    • I haven’t read it, but is this a recommendation? I may have to…the disappearance of so many children is the great tragedy of our age, although I’m sure it happened just as frequently in the past.

  2. rashmenon says:

    there is a distinct flavor, a mood that seeps in as one reads through. good work

  3. Christine says:

    Dark, dark, dark, and fey. I loved this. I am most intrigued by “She understood why it must be done…” On the one hand I want to know more, on the other I like the mysteriousness of the piece. Beautifully written.

    • I felt the same way, I wanted to keep writing (as I do with most of my stories) but I also felt the need to keep a sense of mystery about the piece, to leave things unresolved. Glad you liked it!

  4. This is hauntingly beautiful.

  5. Secret society of missing children who defend the unknowing world from the forces of darkness? Heck yes!!!

    So. Cool.

  6. […] Always and Forever Alone by ChrisWhiteWrites ~ @chriswhitewrite ~ Unspecified […]

Comments and criticism always welcome!

