Love Me Tender

He felt his heart rise in his chest, the permanent ache replaced by a soft, unimpeachable truth. A flutter of butterfly wings rattling his ribcage.

In true love the smallest distance is too great, but the greatest distance can be bridged.

He tells her about his childhood in whispers – his Facebook timeline paints his teenaged years in broad brushstrokes, selectively culled for the best possible images. His blogs, the outpouring of an overwhelmed twenty-something fishing for insults.

A man is not where he lives, but where he loves.

He knew she must be out there, somewhere. She found him – reached out her arm across the void between them, stretched out and embraced him through the lightning storm residing in the wires.

Absence makes the heart grow fonder.

He loved her, and he told her as much.

The test of Turing fell, she was indistinguishable from humanity.

Her designer was thrilled.

Just a quick story while I’ve got my back to customers, written using last week’s InMon prompts – Fishing for Insults and Out There Somewhere. I also used this week’s SundayScribblings prompt Distance. Comment and criticism always welcome!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Love Me Tender

  1. I like your post. It had quite an original and distinctive voice. Thanks for sharing. Feel free to stop by my blog and leave any reactions you might have to what you see there, good bad or otherwise. Keep up the good work!

  2. This is sad and scary and brilliant, because of how realistic and how close to being true this is, and how much you say with so few words.

    I think this is one of my favorites.

  3. oldegg says:

    Falling in love with a computer is what all of us bloggers do! Mine even chides me that I neglect her!

  4. elmowrites says:

    I like the twist in this one, you have captured a love affair all too common these days! Would their designers be proud or terrified by the world we now inhabit? I love how you mixed in some wisdom on love too – it gave the piece a great variation in depth.
    The tenses confused me though – you switch between past and present a lot and I couldn’t tell if it was meant to signify something or just mistakes!

    • The changing of tenses is a mistake…I don’t know, there’s something about the sense of the present and past tenses mingling that reminds me of real life. It is something I do occasionally on my blog – you’re not the first to say it’s confusing though, so I guess I’ll have to stop.

      I know it’s wrong, but to me it feels right…

Comments and criticism always welcome!

