Panspermia

Will it never stop? This throbbing in my head, the pounding of my heart, the awful, growling cacophony droning through my mind, threatening to explode. Unclean – I feel so damned unclean. Soap. Soap, to wash the germs away, to kill the bacteria that march unendingly across the fertile hair-forests that sprout from the foothills of my stomach. A stomach stretched out, “gone to seed” as they say. But from my belly grows nothing. My reputation, my career, my sex life – dead aor dying, gone away – I am stranded, locked away, alone in my sanitized room. Nothing but the population of parasites grows. Soap! Eradicate these damned insects, disinfect me. Where do they keep coming from? How can I stay clean?

Disinfect me.

Another quick Trifecta weekend piece, this time using the words Cacophony (although spell check keeps insisting on Cacophonous for some reason,) Soap and Insects in that order through the story. I got a bit carried away with a longer story (around 1500 words or so) that I was initially writing for these prompts, so this one has been written in a panicking twenty minutes.

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Panspermia

  1. Thanks for linking up this weekend. We hope you can come back for the weekday challenge too. Remember to check out our Facebook and Twitter pages for news on what’s happening on the site.

  2. i love this! a sense of hopelessness and frustration, banging your head against the wall type of reaction. Much empathy for this. The length suits the sort of chaiotic irratic thinking. I also like the simplicity of Soap, where the mind has escaped to such simple resources. well done

Comments and criticism always welcome!

