The Void

“Try not to scream,” I told her, “screaming will only excite them, will only serve to make them angrier.” She was sobbing hysterically by this stage, not far from where I found her, lost and alone in the scrub. I stumbled across the trail of blood leading through the bushes. She had tried to work her way along the track, I suppose, although only a fool would tread such a path, slick with moss – it was too obvious a path, too obviously a trap. She was bleeding as though a razor had slashed her flesh, the bougainvillea slicing its autograph along her spine.

“Try to control yourself; you’ll only end up making them come faster.” It was supposed to be deep, wasn’t supposed to be anything other than what it was: a command. Just a simple instruction: try not to scream. I pulled the needle-sharp thorns from her shoulder, fingers dancing – glancing up, paranoid as I worked to free her. I felt her heart quicken as she looked upon her saviour, stopping short when she came across the rich emerald green scales erupting from my waist-coat.

Ignoring her accidental insult I pulled her to her feet. Told her – in only a whisper: follow my footprints. Told her to follow me to safety, to never fall behind. She nodded dumbly over my shoulder, deliberately avoiding my gaze. Mammals are always so untrusting.

I had seen only one of her kind before, watched as he came through the vortex, watched as he was torn a new cloaca in front of me. I managed to scavenge some of the flesh the king lizards had left behind. My mouth swelled with saliva, remembering the flavor as I led to my nest.

My babies are hungry.

This story comes from a range of prompt sites…hopefully this is actually the end of the writer’s block…although I have been able to work on the novel(s) and another short story for competition, it’s more like the deadlines on the wall before me have stopped me from writing anything new. Anyway, I’m now pretending they’re not there and so far, so good.
The prompts for this tale come from Bekindrewrite Try not to scream, from Trifecta with deep (difficult to penetrate or comprehend), SundayScribblings with lesson and 3WordWednesday with control, flesh and razor. As well as StoryDam with the over-arching theme: your character is swept into another world, a la Wizard of Oz (paraphrasing of course…)

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

18 thoughts on “The Void

  1. barbara says:

    my babies are hungry

    shiver . . . I should have waited until morning to read this, I think. 🙂

    good read (hoping now for a good sleep)

  2. joesix says:

    Very nice writing. I wouldn’t mind reading more about a duplicitous lizardman.

  3. lynnette-net says:

    I love the last line. And that it’s lizards! 🙂

  4. Great way to break writers block by blending prompts. Wow!! Snack time.

  5. chrstnj says:

    Nice and creepy! And fully self-contained. I always love your pieces – I’ll be checking back here regularly!

  6. Creeeeepy… Hope writer’s block stays away, Chris! Must be going around… 😛

  7. Trifecta says:

    Thanks for joining up, Chris. It’s not my place to say how well you’ve answered another site’s prompt, but if StoryDam is asking you to sweep your character into another world, then I think you’ve nailed it. The world you create here is absolutely believable and as usual your stories are compulsive, fast-paced and enjoyable. Hope you’ll join us for the weekend prompt.

  8. John Wiswell says:

    Good luck in staving off your writer’s block. You may want to italicize the author’s note at the end – otherwise it reads as a very weird diversion from the climax!

  9. Sheilagh Lee says:

    my babies are hungry .great line

  10. Steve Green says:

    Clever lizard, this time the whole of the dinner, not just the scraps, I hope the babies grow up to be big, strong, clever lizards too.

  11. Sonya Clark says:

    Terrific! I love the last line.

  12. Carrie says:

    Oh, that last line…it makes the piece.

    I love the scene you’ve set, the sense that this creature is helping…until you get to the end:)

    I will say it is a little choppy in places, it could use an edit to smooth out some of the phrases.

    Kudos on fitting in so many prompts!

  13. Fascinating and horrifying all in one!

  14. Tara R. says:

    Definitely not in Kansas any more. Eerie and compelling.

  15. […] The Void by ChrisWhiteWrites ~ @Chriswhitewrite ~ Magical Realism […]

Comments and criticism always welcome!

