Patient Zero

I know now what I should have done, I knew then what I was supposed to do – she was in so much pain, doubled over, coughing up blood. I should have killed her then, before the virus had taken over – when I still had a chance; this is all my fault. My sweetheart, Patient Zero.

Another flash piece for Trifecta, this time they asked for three sentences, still telling a complete story. Man, do they love the number three…this one could cover last week’s challenge for a romance, although it is more than 33 words. See what I mean about the number three?

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

12 thoughts on “Patient Zero

  1. Dana says:

    This reads like the perfect voiceover for the opening scene of an apocalyptic thriller.

  2. jesterqueen1 says:

    More of the apocolypse, perhaps related to the piece you did that ran like a series of tweets!

  3. dbs says:

    The callousness is chilling with “sweetheart.” Like.

  4. Carrie says:

    I saw a scene from The Walking Dead. Great piece

  5. Amelia says:

    Fantastic.

  6. Gina says:

    Chilling and great.

  7. Satu says:

    Scary. I agree, I can very well imagine this as a voiceover in the opening sequence of a film like “Outbreak”.

  8. Trifecta says:

    Welcome back, Chris. I’m glad that last week’s writer’s block has gone! Another really creative response to the prompt. I love the fact that this stands on its own as a story in its own right, but also suggests that there is much more to come.

    Hopefully you’ll join us again for Monday’s challenge.

  9. Mel says:

    From the title to the final period, you had my undivided attention. Well done!

  10. i love the apocalyptic edge, with the patient and doctor being in love. a beautiful opening voiceover, I agree!!

Comments and criticism always welcome!

