Prey

So over on Terrible Minds this week’s challenge is to writing a three sentence story from the perspective of animal. An animal on his list:

Bear

Wolf

Deer

Cougar

Mouse

Eagle

Bighorn Sheep

Mosquito

The prize is awesome, head over and check it out! This story also features this week’s 3WordWednesday words: Brutal, Sullen and Trust

Oh, and the animal I chose is Deer. Will try and write one for each of them over the course of the week.

            I can smell her, concealed somewhere behind me, deep between those dappled columns, hidden in the cavernous temple beyond the glade. The hackles of my neck rise in a sullen acknowledgement of her presence – I feel the growing urge to breach that trust between us, to fly, to start the chase before she is ready to run. She takes me by surprise, leaping from the right; vicious and brutal, I fall under her weight. 

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Prey

  1. This is a very engaging piece.

  2. Sonia Lal says:

    I like the imagery!

  3. thommyg says:

    Very nicely done. I like the imagery that comes from reading this.

  4. It’s a very interesting challenge, and you’ve written a beautiful piece for it. Well done!

  5. […] Prey by ChrisWhiteWrites ~ @chriswhitewrite ~ Slice of Life […]

Comments and criticism always welcome!

