A Short Story

He held me tight against his waist, pulling me closer to him as the waves crashed, ebullient and festive around us. Held me in the belief that he could ever prevent me from slipping away from him in the riptide that embraced us. I was rumpled and creased where his fingers clutched at me, crushing me in his grip. Holding on as though his health and his frail sense of self-esteem depended on my staying by his side. But as the breakers dumped him beneath their heads of white foam I made good my escape, and he stood, naked and exposed in the shallows. His voice tumbled against the roof of his mouth as he tried to shout in a whisper, so as not to draw any attention to his nudity. “Somebody, please…my boardshorts!” He dropped onto his knees. An embarressed fourteen year old boy, left naked and alone in the warm Pacific breeze.

Just a quick little story while I’m on my break at work, thanks to Sunday Scribblings, 3WordWednesday and Trifecta for their prompts: Health, Belief, Rumple, Festive and Roof (of your mouth) in that order. Thanks again guys, and there should be (at least) one more story this week!

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “A Short Story

  1. Tara R. says:

    The way you went with your descriptions was wonderful, especially the big ‘reveal’ at the end. A fun read.

  2. wayne says:

    nicely done…thanks for sharing your words

  3. Sheilagh Lee says:

    A fun read thanks for sharing this.

  4. barbara says:

    ahhh to be 14 again . . . NOT!

    šŸ™‚ thanks for sharing

  5. trifecta says:

    Thank you for participating in this week’s Trifecta Writing Challenge. I really enjoyed this tightly-knit little piece. I smiled at the end, picturing a scrawny kid dying of embarrassment. I hope you’ll join us again this week.

  6. Old Egg says:

    Yes, 14 is probably the worst age to be left naked on the beach! Even I feel embarrassed for him.

Comments and criticism always welcome!

